什麼是time-of-use (TOU) 電費計劃

Time-of-use (TOU) 是根據一天、一季的不同時間以及周間或周末/假日而制定的不同費率計劃。用電高峰時段的電費較貴,非高峰時段較低。高峰時段可能因費率及/或能源供應商而不同,一般定義為下午4–9點。* TOU 計劃支持較潔淨的能源,鼓勵使用太陽能及風能等再生能源。所有TOU 計劃都有共通的主題:用電的時間跟用電量一樣重要。

*高峰時段可能因費率及/或能源供應商而不同。請洽詢您當地的能源供應商以瞭解您所在地區的TOU 時段 。

這對我的帳單有何影響? TOU 計劃能讓我省錢嗎?

如果加州居民能轉移一些用電,利用低費率(非高峰)時段,就能降低電費帳單。避免在高峰時段使用洗碗機,就是轉移用電降低電費的一個例子。

有關對帳單的影響,請洽詢您當地的能源供應商。

對某些個人有例外嗎?

是的,對某些個人和家庭是有例外:

  • 缺乏一年以上內部數據的用戶
  • 有醫療基本線津貼的個人
  • 需要面對面代表的用戶
  • 要求第三方通知的用戶

此外,CPUC決定某些地區符合加州代用能源費率(CARE)以及家庭電費補助(FERA)計劃的用戶,也不會被轉移到TOU計劃。

了解您是否符合資格,請洽詢您當地的能源供應商。

什麼是“高峰需求” 或“高峰時段”?

根據CPUC, 加州能源委員會 (CEC) 及加州獨立制度營運者 (CAISO), 加州的電網在下午及傍晚用電達到高峰– 此時再生能源產生的電力較少,因此發電成本較高。

高峰需求時段通常定義為下午 4–9點,* 高峰時間可能因費率及/或能源供應商而不同。加州居民可嘗試改變行為,以節省電力及管理這個時段的住家和公司的用電。

請查詢當地的能源供應商,了解您附近的TOU時段。

我如何降低高峰時段的用電?

加州電力升級Energy Upgrade California® 鼓勵所有加州居民採用下午4–9點*高峰時段的節能妙方 ,例如:

  • 關掉所有非必要的照明
  • 使用冷水,或在非高峰時間使用洗衣機和洗碗機,可以減少使用熱水
  • 在非高峰時間預先冷卻您的住家
  • 開冷氣時,將恆溫器調到較高的溫度
  • 在耗電的電器用品如電子熱水爐、室內外照明、水循環幫浦以及游泳池和三溫暖幫浦等加裝定時器
  • 使用定時器設定在非高峰時段操作洗碗機、洗衣機和爐頭。

*高峰時段可能因費率及/或能源供應商而不同同。請洽詢您當地的能源供應商以瞭解您所在地區的TOU 時段 。

在我最需要用電時,加州為何制訂更貴的電費?

新的費率計劃是CPUC支持加州政府繼續轉用更潔淨能源的努力。TOU計劃支持全民享用更潔淨更可靠電網。

加州的供電網愈來愈多是靠太陽能和風能等再生潔淨能源來發電。最大的挑戰在於下午和傍晚用電激增的高峰時段。此時的電力主要是來自産生二氧化碳的能源 , 導致溫室氣體排放。

加州居民都應盡一份心力協助州政府達成潔淨能源目標, 為下一代保留美好環境。加州人可以減少對環境的破壞,只要全體居民都參與,小小的行動就可造成巨大的影響。部分人將用電時間轉移到非高峰時間更可省錢,視參與的費率計劃而定。

有關對帳單的影響,請洽詢您當地的能源供應商。

州政府的能源目標對加州人的用電有何影響?

加州要實現減少溫室氣體排放,零排碳的長期目標,必須跟上再生能源發電的趨勢。過去幾十年裡,加州人在節約能源及提高能源效率方面做得非常出色。他們可以持續這種進步,並透過更多永續措施來協助減少有害氣體的排放。日間潔淨能源的供應,能夠提供加州人一個機會去思考在日常生活如何用電,以及何時用電。

CPUC根據2015年加州眾議會第327號法案(Perea,2013年),通過住宅費率改革決定(D.15-07-001)。CPUC負責管理投資者擁有的公用事業(IOU),保護消費者、保護環境,並確保加州人獲得安全可靠的公用事業基礎設施和服務。該決定指令加州主要的公用事業 – Pacific, Gas & Electric (太平洋天然氣和電力)PG&E、SCE(南加州愛迪生)以及聖地牙哥天然氣和電力(SDG&E)自2019年開始將住宅客戶轉換為TOU費率計劃。

TOU計劃生效是否有特定的時間框架?

自1980年代以來,TOU費率計劃已在加州一些大企業客戶實施,小企業客戶從2009年開始參與TOU計劃。CPUC指示每個IOU對住宅客戶進行選擇加入和默認試用的TOU費率計劃,後者在全加州已有約63萬個客戶。

在沙加緬度市公用事業管理區(SMUD)的引領下,SDG&E 自2019年起將成為第一家將住宅用戶轉換為TOU計劃的IOU。PG&E和SCE將於2020年10月開始向客戶提供TOU計劃。詳情請洽您當地的能源供應商。

TOU是否也會影響我的瓦斯帳單?

TOU 只影響電費帳單。

TOU會影響太陽能用戶嗎?

太陽能客戶應聯繫當地能源供應商,了解TOU如何影響他們的帳單。

TOU會影響電動車車主嗎?

電動車車主如果在夜間為汽車充電,轉到TOU費率計劃將可以獲益。請查詢當地能源供應商,了解其影響。

我還能在高峰時段用電嗎?

州政府並不要求加州人都不用電、改變生活方式或完全改變日程安排。相反地,它鼓勵加州人在下午4點至9點之間有效地用電。* 並且將用電時間轉移到一天當中再生能源(例如太陽能及風能)供應較多的時段。

*高峰時段可能因費率及/或能源供應商而不同。請洽詢您當地的能源供應商以瞭解您所在地區的TOU 時段 。

What is Energy Upgrade California® doing to educate Californians about the shift to TOU electricity rate plans?

TOU plans create another opportunity for Californians to manage their energy consumption by harnessing the availability of low-cost, cleaner energy during off-peak hours. Energy Upgrade California® is expanding its statewide public education campaign to promote energy efficiency (the “how much” of electricity use) and to encourage behaviors that will support the shift to TOU plans (the “when” of electricity use). Please check with your local energy provider for more information.

TOU計劃是只有加州倡議嗎?

不是。美國各地都有類似的TOU計劃,例如亞歷桑那、伊利諾、馬里蘭、密西西比和紐約州,目標是將用電轉移到潔淨能源供應時間,提倡更節能省電的觀念。

什麼是潔淨能源?

簡言之,任何被視為“零排碳”的能源就是潔淨能源。傳統來說,水力是主要的潔淨能源,不過近年來的選擇更多,風能和太陽能成為重要的潔淨能源,研究人員還在開發新的科技。

潔淨能源有什麼好處?

居民使用潔淨能源,可以協助對抗氣候變遷和維持及保護環境。其他好處包括空氣更乾淨/減少空氣污染,改善公共衛生、就業和其它經濟益處。

我的地區為何沒有某些TOU計劃?

加州三大IOU (PG&E, SCE and SDG&E)按規定要轉換到TOU 計劃。法令並未包括市政公共事業或Community Choice Aggregation (CCA)供應商。不過很多市公共事業也提供TOU 費率。請洽詢您當地能源供應商以了解詳情。

如果我屬於 Community Choice Aggregation (CCA)計劃,我還會受TOU計劃影響嗎?

如果您的用電是透過CCA計劃供應,請查詢您的供應商以了解詳情。

What is a time-of-use (TOU) electricity rate plan?

Time-of-use (TOU) is a rate plan in which electricity rates vary according to the time of day, season and day type (weekday or weekend/holiday). Electricity prices are higher during peak demand hours and lower during off-peak hours. Peak times may vary by rate and/or energy provider but are generally defined as the hours between 4–9PM.* TOU plans support a cleaner power grid by encouraging energy use when renewable resources, like solar and wind power, are readily available. All TOU plans share a common theme: when electricity is used matters as much as how much electricity is used.

*Peak times may vary by rate and/or energy provider. Check with your local energy provider to understand the TOU time frames in your area.

How will this impact my bill? Will I be able to save money on a TOU plan?

If Californians can shift some of their electricity use to take advantage of the lower-priced (off-peak) time periods, they may be able to lower their overall electricity costs. Running the dishwasher during off-peak periods instead of on-peak periods is an example of shifting usage to lower electricity costs.

For more information on billing impacts, please contact your local energy provider.

Are there exceptions for certain individuals?

Yes, certain exemptions exist for individuals and families:

  • Customers without one year’s worth of interval data
  • Individuals with a medical baseline allowance
  • Those who cannot be disconnected without an in-person representative
  • Customers who request third-party notification

Additionally, the CPUC has decided that customers who are eligible for the California Alternate Rates for Energy (CARE) and Family Electric Rate Assistance (FERA) programs in certain hot areas are not going to be defaulted to TOU plans.

To learn whether you qualify, please contact your local energy provider.

What is the “peak demand” or “peak hours” period?

According to the CPUC, the California Energy Commission (CEC) and California Independent System Operator (CAISO), the state’s electricity grid reaches its peak level of usage between the late afternoon and early evening – a time frame in which electricity produced by renewable resources is less available and thus costs more to produce.

The peak demand period is generally defined as the hours between 4–9PM,* though peak times may vary by rate and/or energy provider. Californians are encouraged to shift their behavior to best conserve electricity and manage electricity use in their homes and places of business during this time.

Check with your local energy provider to find out about the TOU time frames in your area.

What can I do to reduce energy use during peak hours?

Energy Upgrade California® is encouraging all Californians to initiate energy savings during the peak hours of 4–9PM,* such as by:

  • Turning off all but essential lighting
  • Using less hot water by operating washing machines and dishwashers during off-peak hours or on cold water
  • Pre-cooling your home outside of peak demand hours
  • Setting the thermostat for your air conditioner at a higher temperature when it is running
  • Installing timers on electricity-consuming appliances such as electric water heaters, indoor and outdoor lighting, water recirculation pumps, and pool and spa pumps
  • Using timers to run appliances such as dishwashers, washing machines and ovens at non-peak times

*Peak times may vary by rate and/or energy provider. Check with your local energy provider to find out about the TOU time frames in your area.

Why is the state of California making energy more expensive when I need it the most?

The new pricing plan is part of a CPUC effort to support the state’s ongoing shift to cleaner energy. TOU plans support a cleaner and more reliable power grid for everyone.

The state’s electrical grid is increasingly powered by clean, renewable sources of energy, when the sun is out and the wind is blowing. The challenge is in the late afternoon and evening, when demand for energy peaks. At this time, electricity is more likely to be produced by carbon-intensive energy sources, which emit greenhouse gases.

Californians will be doing their part to help the state reach its clean energy goals and preserve the environment for future generations. There are things Californians can do to minimize their environmental impact, and it doesn’t take much effort to make a huge difference if all Californians get involved. Certain individuals may also save money by shifting to off-peak hours, depending what rate plan they are on.

For more information on billing impacts, please contact your local energy provider.

How are the state’s goals affecting Californians’ electricity use?

For California to achieve the long-term goals of reducing greenhouse gas emissions and becoming a zero-carbon state, the trend to produce more electricity from renewable resources must continue. Over the past decades, Californians have done a great job conserving energy and becoming more energy efficient. They can continue that progress and help the state reduce harmful emissions by taking additional steps toward sustainability. The availability of cleaner energy during the day creates an opportunity for Californians to think about not only how, but also when electricity is used to power their daily lives.

In response to Assembly Bill 327 (Perea, 2013) in 2015, the CPUC, which regulates investor-owned utilities (IOUs), protects consumers, safeguards the environment, and ensures Californians’ access to safe and reliable utility infrastructure and services, approved the Residential Rate Reform decision (D.15-07-001). This decision ordered the state’s major IOUs – Pacific, Gas & Electric (PG&E), Southern California Edison (SCE) and San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) – to transition residential customers to TOU rate plans beginning in 2019.

Is there a specific time frame when TOU plans go into effect?

TOU pricing plans have been in effect for large business customers across the state since the 1980s, and small business customers began enrolling in TOU plans beginning in 2009. The CPUC directed each of the IOUs to conduct both an opt-in and a default pilot of TOU rate plans for residential customers, with the latter comprising roughly 630,000 customer accounts across the state.

Following the lead of the Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD), SDG&E will be the first IOU transitioning its residents to TOU plans beginning in 2019. PG&E and SCE will begin defaulting customers to TOU in October 2020. Please check with your local energy provider for more information.

Does TOU impact my gas bill as well?

TOU affects electricity pricing only.

How will TOU impact me as a solar customer?

Solar customers should contact their local energy provider to learn how TOU may impact their bill.

How will TOU impact me as an electric vehicle owner?

Electric vehicle owners may benefit from switching to a TOU rate plan if they charge their vehicles overnight. Check with your local energy provider to understand the impacts.

Will I still be able to use energy during on-peak hours?

The state is not asking Californians to not use energy, change their lifestyles or turn their schedules upside down. Instead, it is encouraging Californians to efficiently use power between the hours of 4– 9PM.* and shift use to parts of the day when electricity from renewable resources (such as solar and wind) is more readily available.

*Peak times may vary by rate and/or energy provider. Check with your local energy provider to understand the TOU time frames in your area.

What is Energy Upgrade California® doing to educate Californians about the shift to TOU electricity rate plans?

TOU plans create another opportunity for Californians to manage their energy consumption by harnessing the availability of low-cost, cleaner energy during off-peak hours. Energy Upgrade California® is expanding its statewide public education campaign to promote energy efficiency (the “how much” of electricity use) and to encourage behaviors that will support the shift to TOU plans (the “when” of electricity use). Please check with your local energy provider for more information.

Is TOU a California-only initiative?

No. Other states across the nation have implemented similar TOU programs, such as Arizona, Illinois, Maryland, Mississippi and New York, with the goal of shifting energy use to when clean energy is more readily accessible and promoting more efficient use of their energy resources.

What is considered a clean energy source?

In short, any energy source that can be considered “zero-carbon” is a clean energy source. Traditionally, hydropower has been the main clean energy resources in widespread use, but more recently, options have diversified as newer sources like wind and solar have become viable utility- scale sources and researchers continue to develop other technologies.

What are the benefits of clean energy?

When residents use clean energy, they help to combat climate change and preserve and protect the environment. Other benefits include cleaner air/less air pollution, improved public health, jobs and other economic benefits.

Why aren’t certain TOU plans available in my region?

The three large IOUs (PG&E, SCE and SDG&E) in California are required to transition to default TOU plans. This mandate does not include municipal utilities or Community Choice Aggregation (CCA) providers. However, many municipal utilities also offer TOU rates. Please check with your local energy provider for more information.

What if I am in a Community Choice Aggregation (CCA) program? Will I still be affected by TOU?

If your energy is supplied through a CCA program, please reach out to your provider to learn more.