Skip to main content

氣候變遷

氣候變遷是什麼意思?

加州和整個地球的氣候模式正在改變。自20世紀中以來,氣候科學家追蹤到這些全球暖化趨勢,並將這些現象主要歸因於地球上人類的活動。我們使用化石燃料的行為導致大氣中二氧化碳和其他溫室氣體的濃度急劇升高。

在加州,大部分的能源仍然來自我們對化石燃料的依賴,如天然氣和石油。當化石燃料燃燒時,二氧化碳、甲烷和其他溫室氣體會釋放到空氣中。在提取和運輸化石燃料過程中也會釋放甲烷等溫室氣體。在自然濃度下的二氧化碳沒有害處,但過多時會如同在地球周圍包裹一層塑料,使得日照所吸收的熱度無法散出。這樣的大氣反應就像溫室一樣,因此這些排放氣體被稱為溫室氣體。

氣候變遷對加州有什麼影響?

在加州,氣候變遷帶來以下幾個方面的影響:

我們預期熱浪會更頻繁且為期更久,夏天更加乾燥。在溫暖的天氣下,煙霧形成的速度更快,對我們所有人都會造成健康危害,特別是嬰兒、兒童和老人。

海平面預計在未來100年將上升高達8英尺。這可能造成遍及數百英里海岸線的嚴重淹水和侵蝕,對住家、農地和低窪城市造成極大影響。

更多森林大火:隨著降雨模式的改變,森林將變得更乾燥,容易引發更頻繁劇烈的火災。火災會製造更多的碳至大氣中,又更加速了氣候變遷。

此氣候工具中的資料顯示在三種不同氣候模式和兩種不同情境下,預計增加的火災潛在區域。深橘色和紅色假設火災潛在區域增加高達10倍。

維護欣欣向榮的加州

美國沒有任何其他州有跟加州一樣的自然美景、長達數英里的海岸線和舒適宜人的天氣。我們也是世界知名企業家、發明家和夢想家的發源地這些人相信我們只要下定決心就可以成就任何事情。理所當然我們喜歡住在加州。但我們所愛的加州正受到威脅。氣候變遷已加重空氣污染、森林砍伐、海洋酸化、更多森林大火、乾旱、熱浪和海平面升高,這些都威脅到我們的健康、生計和未來。科學家和其他專家一致同意,為了避免氣候變遷的最嚴重後果,我們需要減少碳污染,而且刻不容緩。我們必須想辦法共同努力做出實際的重大改變,以保護我們現有的資源並為後代保留我們的自然資源。

我們領導走向潔淨能源的未來

我們要如何實現這個遠大目標? 每位加州人和在這裡營業的公司都需為此目標做出努力和奉獻。我們都需要為成功提高能源效率、擁護潔淨能源和支持潔淨能源技術盡一己之力。透過實現這個目標,我們也將享有提早達成潔淨能源未來所帶來的好處。除了對抗氣候變遷效應外,我們在潔淨能源投資、就業和創新上的共同努力也可以提升加州當地的經濟發展。

氣候減免額

California Climate Credit加州氣候減免額是加州對抗氣候變遷所做的其中一項努力。這項減免額由州政府計畫提供,此計畫要求發電廠和排放溫室氣體的其他大型工業從Air Resources Board空氣資源委員會管理的拍賣中購買碳污染配額。

瞭解更多

你可以為氣候變遷做什麼?

我們每個人都可以採取一些行動來減少我們對環境的影響。在加州,我們個人影響最大的部分就是減少在居家、汽車和業務方面使用的能源。

Energy Upgrade California®加州能源升級計畫® 提供各種節約能源和用水的方法,讓你更輕鬆就能減少碳足跡。你的水電瓦斯機關和市政當局也可能提供折扣和其他獎勵來協助你採取行動。

只要我們所有人都配合這項行動,只要簡單幾個動作就能產生巨大的改變。如果每個美國家庭都將一個白熾燈泡換成新的Energy Star®能源之星節能LED燈泡,Environmental Protection Agency環保局 (EPA) 估計我們可省下足夠三百萬戶家庭一年使用的能源,每年節省約$6.8億美元的能源費用,而且每年減少90億磅的溫室氣體排放量。

住宅能源效率

瞭解如何透過住宅改善措施讓你的住家更節能舒適,同時還可以降低你的水電瓦斯帳單費用。

瞭解更多

行動

加入加州夥伴們的行列,透過更有效管理你的日常能源使用,一起減少我們對環境的衝擊。

瞭解更多

Skip to main content

Climate Change

What Is Climate Change?

Climate patterns are changing, in California and across the planet. Since the mid 20th century, climate scientists have tracked these global warming trends and attributed them largely to human activity on the planet. That activity (our use of fossil fuels) has resulted in dramatically increased levels of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in the atmosphere.

In California, much of the state’s energy still comes from our dependence on fossil fuels like natural gas and oil. When fossil fuels are burned, carbon dioxide, methane and other greenhouse gases are released into the air. These greenhouse gases, such as methane, are also released during fossil fuel extraction and transportation. Carbon dioxide isn’t harmful at natural levels, but too much can act like a layer of plastic wrap around the Earth that lets in heat from the sun but doesn’t let it escape. The atmosphere acts like a greenhouse, which is why these emissions are called greenhouse gases.

How Is Climate Change Affecting California?

In California, there are several areas of impact from climate change:

We can expect more frequent and longer heat waves, and drier summers. Smog forms faster in warmer weather, creating a health hazard for all of us, especially infants, children and the elderly.

Sea levels are predicted to rise up to eight feet over the next 100 years. This could cause significant flooding and erosion of hundreds of miles of coastline, greatly impacting homes, agricultural lands and low-lying cities.

More forest fires: As rain patterns change, forests will become drier and susceptible to more frequent and intense fires. These fires will add even more carbon to the atmosphere, further accelerating climate change.

The data in this climate tool display the projected increase in potential area burned given three different climate models and two different scenarios. Darker oranges and reds suggest up to a 10-fold increase in potential area burned.

Keeping California Golden

No other state in the U.S. can match what California offers in terms of natural beauty, miles of coastline and idyllic weather. We’re also home to world-renowned entrepreneurs, inventors and dreamers – the kind of people who believe we can do anything once we set our minds to it. It’s easy to see why we love living in California. But the California we love is threatened. Climate change is already contributing to increased air pollution, deforestation, ocean acidification, more wildfires, droughts, heat waves and sea-level rise, which threaten our health, our livelihoods and our future. Scientists and other experts agree that we need to reduce carbon pollution if we are to avoid the worst effects of climate change, and there’s no time to waste. We have to find ways to work together to make real, substantive changes to protect what we have today and preserve our natural resources for future generations.

We’re Leading The Way To A Clean Energy Future

So how do we achieve such an ambitious goal? It will take effort and dedication from every Californian and company doing business here. We all need to play a part in successfully increasing energy efficiency, embracing clean energy and supporting clean technology. In achieving this goal, we’ll also enjoy the benefits that come with being early adopters of a clean energy future. Besides fighting the effects of climate change, our collective efforts can boost our local economy by keeping clean-energy investments, jobs and innovation in California.

Climate Credit

The California Climate Credit is part of California's efforts to fight climate change. The credit is from a state government program that requires power plants and other large industries that emit greenhouse gases to buy carbon pollution permits from auctions managed by the Air Resources Board.

LEARN MORE

What Can You Do About Climate Change?

There are things each of us can do to minimize our environmental impact. In California, our biggest areas of individual impact are related to reducing our energy use in homes, cars and businesses.

Energy Upgrade California® is making it easier for you to reduce your carbon footprint by providing you with a variety of ways to save energy and water. Your utility and municipality may also provide rebates and other incentives to help you take action.

It doesn't take much to make a huge difference if all of us get involved. If every American home replaced one incandescent light bulb with a new ENERGY STAR energy-saving LED bulb, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) estimates that we could save enough energy to power three million homes for a year, save about $680 million in annual energy costs and eliminate nine billion pounds of greenhouse gas emissions per year.